The Peanut Belt Rural Planning Organization (PBRPO) is comprised of two committees, the Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) and the Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC).

The Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) consists of county elected officials from Bertie, Halifax, Hertford and Northampton Counties, a municipal elected official from each of the counties, and the NC Board of Transportation members from NCDOT Divisions 1 and 4.  TAC establishes goals, priorities, and objectives for the PBRPO, reviews and recommends changes to comprehensive transportation plans, reviews and approves the annual plan of work, and prioritizes transportation improvement projects for submission to the NC Department of Transportation.

The Technical Advisory Committee (TCC) provides technical expertise and recommendations to the TAC.  Members of the TAC include county manager, planners, economic developers from Bertie, Halifax, Hertford and Northampton Counties, NCDOT Division 1 Directors and statewide staff, and the Executive Director of the Choanoke Public Transportation Authority.

TAC and TCC meeting jointly on the third Thursday in the months of January, March, May, July, September, and November at alternating locations within the region or as matters arise that require action.  Please click here for the meeting schedule for 2021.

Click here for the Peanut Belt Rural Planning Organizarion Membership Roster